Writing is a Job

I’m taking a break. This post is a break. I’ve written twenty thousand words in the last four days and I need a break. Yes, my break from writing is to write a blog post. I am very lucky to be able to write for money and I am continually thankful. However, that does not mean it isn’t a job. I’ve explained some facets of the job in previous posts, but what I haven’t gotten into is my workplace and my routine, and various struggles involved in that.

Yes I work in a coffee shop and yes that is a cliche. I do not care. I am not capable of working in my apartment. I think it is because my brain can’t accept my apartment as both a place of work and play. The coffee shop that I work at is my place of work. I go there with the intention of doing work, the same as millions of people all over the world go to their office building.

I have guidelines. I am working on a sequel for an employer that requires the inclusion of a scene in a submarine. This is not because he thinks it is a good story idea, but because he owns the rights to a particular photograph that he wants to use. And I am not including that information in order to shame my employer or to make a grand statement about artistic integrity. He is paying me to write books under a certain set of guidelines, and I have to follow them. Similarly, if you work in an office, you can’t decide to send out all memos in comic cans. (I assume this. I’ve never worked in an office, which is something I am eternally grateful for).

I hope this doesn’t turn you off to ghostwriting. In reality, all writing is work. In most cases, I would rather answer to someone else’s artistic ideas than my own, as I tend to be an unbearable tyrant. I just want to make clear that what I am doing is a job. I feel extraordinarily lucky to be doing it, but it is not any more glamorous than being an accountant. It’s actually much less glamorous, which is why I’m a blogger and not a vlogger.

Feel free to ask me anything in the comments below or on Twitter @shutupcabbage. As always, happy writing.

5 thoughts on “Writing is a Job

  1. You make ghost writing sound so appealing. I’m not saying it never appealed to me, but it seems even more exciting to write for someone’s book rather than your own.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s interesting, as it wasn’t necessarily my plan with that blog post. That being said, I’ve found that a lot of the negative perceptions of ghostwriting are overblown and need to be cleared up. I hope that in some small way, my blog helps to do that.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

