A day full of words

I spent my morning and afternoon writing 5,000 words and I immediately thereafter felt very burnt out. That is what generally happens to me, but today I found an antidote.

I read The Great Gatsby for the third (maybe fourth?) time and I was reminded of why it is we do what we do. I read it all. You know you have finished a good book when you are filled with an overwhelming sense of jealousy at the author’s abilities. If anyone has ever had a talent for writing, it was Fitzgerald. We should, as writers, try to be as good as he was, and if we make it one tenth of the way there, that will be something worth celebrating, and reading.

I ask you, dear reader, has any book ever such good opening and closing sentences?

For your perusal:

In my younger and more vulnerable years my father gave me some advice that I’ve been turning over in my mind ever since. 

So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past. 

Do you have a favorite line or moment in Gatsby? Let me know in comments or on Twitter @shutupcabbage

As always, Happy writing.

7 thoughts on “A day full of words

  1. I thought the movie did an amazing job with sticking to the book. I loved the movie. Here’s my favorite quote…
    “There must have been moments even that afternoon when Daisy tumbled short of his dreams—not through her own fault, but because of the colossal vitality of his illusion.”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I assume you’re talking about the most recent movie, which I also think was better than popular opinion, but also falls inevitably short. Great quote! I think this is one of those books where you can open it to any page and there’s an amazing quote waiting there.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. i’m in australia. i bought it when it first came out A$40. i wouldn’t usually spend that much on a book but i love her work. her next book was Hamlet, quattro size so more expensive but i got a review copy free. since having a baby shes gone back to illustrating kids books. i’m waiting for her baby to grow up do she’ll do more gns hahaha

        Like

Leave a Reply

